My Investment in Rio

Officially I am no ex-pat in Brazil but I feel as if I am. I have a Brazilian fiancé I have spent about 18 months out of the last two and one half years in some of the roughest parts of Rio de Janeiro. My heavily English accented Portuguese betrays my dark skin in Rio but it still gets me by when I need to get service or go somewhere. Brazil is an amazing country of dramatic contrasts equally beautiful and serene. It is also simultaneously grisly and violent. Brazilians are no less different. Her history of the colonial conquest of indigenous-Americans, the horrors of the longest running slave trade in Pan-African history and its continued history of brutal social, political, and economic totalitarianism. Nevertheless the beauty and the sensuality of the country is still the foundation of the cultures history. Many Brazilians can verbalise but most cannot because it is a feeling, a vibe, and a passion that comes from within you. There is nowhere on the planet Earth where this exists. It is pure unadulterated sensuality of life. This blog was started to attempt to assist that its future could be paid for with the investment of justice and not mortgaged with corruption and pain.

One response to “My Investment in Rio

  1. Pingback: My Investment in Rio | Justiça Brasileira 2014/2016 e mais além·

Leave a comment